Jenny Maurer ND

My journey to natural health and midwifery began as a teenager in Seattle, WA, when my focus on healthy diet and lifestyles and environmental issues led me to The Evegreen State College. I earned my Bachelor of Science with an emphasis on pre-med and nutrition. It was then I realized I was destined to be become a naturopathic family doctor. After watching many of my friends have homebirths, midwifery became the natural companion to my interest in holistic medicine. Deeply inspired by Ina May Gaskin’s “Spiritual Midwifery”, I knew this path was my calling.

I went on to earn a Doctorate of Naturopathic Medicine and certificate of Naturopathic Midwifery at the National College of Naturopathic Medicine in Portland, OR and also completed an additional two year apprenticeship in midwifery.  I am licensed as a Naturopathic Physician in the state of Oregon, which in conjunction with my additional certificate and training, also allows me to practice natural childbirth and midwifery.

I thoroughly believe in the body’s innate ability to birth and heal naturally and support these processes through my education, experience and intuition. I treat each patient as an individual and enjoy using herbs, homeopathy, nutrition, and lifestyle counseling to help patients achieve health and wellness. My goal as a  family physician and midwife is to work together, as partners in health, helping to inform and educate so that each patient may make the best choices for themselves and their families.  I welcome all members of the family to my practice, and am especially delighted to care for pregnant women and children. I feel extremely honored to care for women and their families as they make the transition to motherhood and firmly support the motherbaby connection.  My personal journey with midwifery and pediatrics was inspired by the home births of my two children, both of whom have taught me much insight and wisdom. When not practicing, I enjoy being with my friends and family, gardening, knitting, sewing, music, my dog and my chickens.